The winner of Schroll Prize for Excellence 2020 is Oleguer Plana-Ripoll, Aarhus University, Department of Economics and Business Economics - National Centre for Register-based Research

The board's justification

This newly-instated prize recognizes a junior epidemiologist who has demonstrated excellence in epidemiological teaching, research, methods development or dissemination, and thus already contributed to development of the field of epidemiology at an early stage of their career. He is an excellent researcher in epidemiology, he has contributed to development of new methods and has disseminated these openly through an established hub, he has employed innovative approaches to visualize and disseminate his research results, and he has demonstrated leadership in teaching through course development and responsibility. The Board also noted the use of Danish research infrastructure in combination with his international experience.